What was your first purchase and why?

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by cointoss2, Mar 4, 2003.

1. cointoss2

cointoss2 Guest

ClydeBurrie
    (8/31/02 6:31:51 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del All What was your first purchase and why?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I am new to this and just rec'd my license...
    What was your first purchase and why?
    Could use a few tips on what to look for and maybe what would be a nice first buy... A shooter woul dbe nice.
    THANKS

Edited by: ClydeBurrie at: 8/31/02 7:33:08 pm

polishshooter
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (8/31/02 8:24:32 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: What was your first purchase and why?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A five-fer deal from SOG of 3 Polish and 2 Hungarian M44s for $174.95 right after I got my cruffle in 2000.

I always wanted ONE Polish, THAT'S ALL, they were cheap, I figured I could sell the other 4 and keep the best Polish, make a little money and move on the "good" stuff. I only had about $200 to start my "collection" and with two kids getting ready for college, little chance to spend more.

I still have that Polish, and one of the Hunkys that was a good shooter, and now that's pretty much all I collect, Mosin Nagants. They grow on you, they are interesting as heck, have much history, are STILL in regular service throughout the world and also as snipers, and are still CHEAP, and ammo is CHEAP (last tin of good stuff I bought was $35/440 rds, last show same stuff was $45/440) and they are a BLAST to shoot.

After those humble beginnings, I have about oh 20 or so various Mosin Nagants, and have owned maybe 40 or 50. And every time I sell one I end up buying two more, can't seem to shake the bug.