The Firearms Forum banner

What's your favorite cleaning stuff?

4K views 21 replies 20 participants last post by  satellite66 
#1 ·
It's probably a symptom of some dread disease, but I enjoy cleaning guns. Nice memories, and you can do it in a comfy chair in an air-conditioned room.

There's a bewildering array of cleaning stuff available, all claiming to be the greatest thing since Leonardo Da Vinci had to clean his catapult. Me, I've gotten good use out of a Patch Worm kit, Hoppes #9 and Break Free. I tried some Ballistol but couldn't stand the smell of banana oil. I don't expect cologne, but dammit, the stuff ought to smell like guns and not dentist drills.

Stumbled across Microlon Gun Juice during a web search not long ago. As it happens, I met the Microlon people in 1980 when they were getting ramped up and I was a magazine editor. They sent me samples of all sorts of wonderful things which I used on model airplane engines, chainsaw blades, bike chains and two cars. All I can say is, I got rid of the first car (Dodge van with the old slant six) at 200,000 miles because the body was about to fall off, and the second car (Ford Econoline conversion van) is at 240,000 miles and doing great. Several of the model airplane engines are still running too. I'm not counting the Enya .09 because those hand-lapped Enyas take 20 years to break in, but the Saito fourstroke twin in my 6-foot Cub is still purring, after being flown with floats off salt water. The Microlon seems to work.

I'm curious about what other folks use and recommend for cleaning chemicals, oils, preservatives, tools, whatever. You folks aren't exactly shy about your opinions, so let 'er rip!

See less See more
#6 ·
My favorite it Prolix® for all the guns, inside and out!

Attachments

#9 ·