When observations become historical fact

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Gatofeo, Mar 26, 2011.

1. Gatofeo

Gatofeo New Member

Remote Utah desert, separated from Oblivion by a s
    I've been shooting cap and ball revolvers since about 1970. The information in those days about these pistols was pretty straightforward, possibly because there still lived men who had known people who used them regularly in the 19th century.
    Today's proliferation of the internet allows folks to make statements that lack proof, but are taken as historical facts.
    What I seek are contemporary accounts to verify these statements. By contemporary I mean, "of the same time period," such as might be found in vintage diaries, newspaper or magazine articles, manuals, guides or other publications.
    Can anyone provide contemporary proof of the following statements we see time and again?

1. Soldiers in the Civil War carried extra cylinders for their revolvers, so they could reload quickly. These were carried in the pocket, or in special leather pouches.

Yet, I've never seen an authentic Civil War pistol belt containing these pouches, or any contemporary reference to this practice.

2. If they were issued a Colt revolver, soldiers would immediately trade it for a Remington.

I recently read this on the internet, for the first time. News to me.

3. Some soldiers used lubricated felt wads between the powder and ball.

Actually, archaeological digs indicate that most pistol projectiles were conical, with a relatively few lead balls found. If a soldier wanted lead balls, he had to cast his own because conical bullets, attached to a paper tube containing the powder charge, were standard issue. Balls were not.
    The earliest reference I've found to using a lubricated felt wad dates to an American Rifleman magazine of 1929.

4. The load for cap and ball revolvers was standardized at X-amount.