Where to buy ammo

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by wng-2, Jul 31, 2010.

1. wng-2

wng-2 Member

Hello, I am very much a newbie here. Little by little I plan to get into reloading, I have someone that can teach me about it.
    In the meantime is there a place to buy ammo online at a good price? I bought 250 rounds of .45 ACP yesterday at Wal-Mart
    For $85.00. Obviously it certainly doesn’t take long to burn through $85.00. I’m sure this has been discussed, and I apologize for that. As
    I said, I am very much a newbie, and not much of a computer guy either. Thanks very much in advance.
  2. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    Check out MidwayUSA, Cheaper than dirt, and Natchez Shooter Supply. Don't know wher you are, but check out your local sproting good stores. Especially you local smaller gun shops.
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2010
  3. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Wally Worlds ammo prices compared to online are hard to beat; so long as there's one close by and they have the ammo in stock. My suggestion would be to save up the $$ and forego the range for a bit until you can buy the reloading equipt. Get ahold of a few manuals and while you're saving, read up and get a good idea of what you'll want to buy.

Carvers suggestion are good too, especially if you want to buy in bulk. If you're buying 500+ rounds at a time, you can save online. I won't knock them too hard, but I tend to stay away from CheaperThanDirt and Natchez due to some (my opinion) unscrupulous sales tactics. It drives me nuts how Natches always lists some ungodly high price and then their "sale" price next to it. I usually stick with Midway, MidSouth Shooting Supply and Graf & Sons. I have and will still order from the other two, but it has to be a great deal.

Semper Fi and welcome to TFF !
  4. Zhurh

Zhurh Active Member