Which press to buy

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by hunte567, Oct 16, 2011.

1. hunte567

hunte567 New Member

Im new to this and want to start reloading. I want to reload 9mm, 30-06, and 7mag. Im not sure which reloader will do all three. I think the lee turret will but I want to be sure before I start spending any money. Any help yall can give me would be great. Thanks, Neil
  2. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Welcome to TFF Neil ! Take a read on the sticky threads at the top of the reloading forum. LD has put together some great must reads. First step in reloading is to read a couple of manuals first before buying any equiptment. This will make chosing a press much easier for you. Do you know any local reloaders? A few hands on lessons and getting familiar with the process would be ideal.

The Lee turret will do them all. What is your anticipated 9mm usage? If you're going to do high volume 9mm, then the time factor comes into play.

There's much to consider, so if you could give a little more detail on these specifics, we'll answer whatever questions you may have in order to get you heading in the right direction for you.

Budget -
    Purpose,ie hunting, plinking, benchrest -
    Volume -
    any future calibers you may load -

Semper Fi,

Woolley
  3. hunte567

hunte567 New Member

Hey Woolley, thanks for the quick reply. There are some guys my gun range that im going to talk to this week. They were'nt sure about which press to use for the 7 mag. I use it mainly for hunting, but I like going to the long range and shooting. As far as budget im trying to stay as inexpensive as I can. I dont use alot of 9mm but if I can make them, I bet I'll shoot more. I'll like to get dies for 9mm, 30-06, 7mag, 243 and later on 380. Thanks for the help, Neil
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2011
  4. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member