Which Press?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Maddmaxx, Oct 19, 2012.

1. Maddmaxx

Maddmaxx Member

I am looking at a lyman turret or RCBS but I have seen good reviews on the new Lee 4 hole turret. Will the Lee hold up ok? I am new to brass reloading but I used to load shotgun years ago with a Mec loader. I think for pistol loading a turret would be my best bet. Will the Lee get me started and work ok to learn on or should I get the Lyman or RCBS as a first press. I am reading the lyman manual now from from front to back.
  2. dbach

dbach Member

Most brands of reloading equipment are well built. Each brand has its quirks. I use a RCBS Turret and it works well for me. I have never owned a Lee or a Lyman, so I don't know anything about them. I do know that RCBS is top notch equipment and their customer service is one of the best in the business.

RCBS equipment is a little more expensive than Lee. Lyman? I have no idea.
  3. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Welcome to TFF Maxx. what kind of volume and calibers are we talking about?
  4. LDBennett

LDBennett Active Member

LEE reloading equipment is the "Harbor Freight" of reloading equipment. Good tools cost more as do the Lyman, RCBS, Hornady, Forester, and virtually anyone else's reloading equipment. I have owned a lot of LEE stuff and most all of it suffers the same problems: Innovative design features made of material not up to the job or wrong for the job and only adequate quality. Now if your budget is tight then the road to reloading cartridges may be had by LEE equipment. But if you expect durability, quality, and long term good performance then LEE is the road to frustration, in my experience.

But we all get to choose and have our own opinions. Take mine however you wish.

LDBennett
  5. 76Highboy

76Highboy Well-Known Member Supporting Member