who knows about Vizio tv's?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 68c15, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. 68c15

    68c15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,526
    I have a vizio VO320E and the thing wont work with either it's own remote or the Direct TV one. it was working fine until Thursday when all of a sudden it quit. I did the google search and all I can come up empty handed.

    help please
  2. woolleyworm

    woolleyworm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,942
    Location:
    SW Fort Worth
    If both remotes worked before and now they both don't, then your IR sensor is dead on the TV. How old is it? If it's over a year old, it's probably cheaper to buy a new one and give this one to the kids.

    Just for kicks, you could try new batteries if you haven't already, it's worth a shot. Some IR sensors are more sensitive than others.
  3. cpttango30

    cpttango30 Guest

    Yeah I am going with bad IR receiver as well.
  4. cycloneman

    cycloneman Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    8,022
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I have never had a direct tv romote work with a visio. My remotes are old tho.
  5. ampaterry

    ampaterry *TFF Admin Staff Chaplain* Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,710
    Location:
    West Tennessee
    IR is line of sight, so make SURE that nothing has been moved in the path between the remote and the receiver button on the TV. Our viseo IR receiver is on the lower right corner of the front trim around the screen, the frame itself. Look REAL close around the front until you spot a little thing about the diameter of a .32 caliber bullet (Hey, this IS a firearms forum!). Clean it well and make sure nothing is in front of it.
    With luck, your kid installed his video game receiver in front of it and caused the problem.
  6. ampaterry

    ampaterry *TFF Admin Staff Chaplain* Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,710
    Location:
    West Tennessee
    Try these Vizeo codes:
    11758
    10864
    10885
    11499
    11756
  7. cpttango30

    cpttango30 Guest

    If you want a lower end universal remote that works what just about everything (Except comcast digital HD boxes) get the Logitech Harmony 1 or the new Harmony Touch.

    I have the Harmony 1 and I love it. It runs anything (Except the comcast digital HD box) i tried to run with it. It is a great budget universal remote. You do need a computer to program it though. It is very user friendly BTW.

    http://www.logitech.com/en-us/remotes/universal-remotes/harmony-one-advanced-universal-remote

    http://www.logitech.com/en-us/remotes/universal-remotes/harmony-touch?WT.ac=ps|10514|hp
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 5, 2012
  8. jjmitchell60

    jjmitchell60 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,540
    Location:
    Raised in Buzzard Roost near Frog Town in hillls o
    Bought the wife one and her Direc remote will not work her Viso.
  9. Caneman

    Caneman Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,454
    did you replace the batteries in the remote? seems like that is the first thing to go
  10. ampaterry

    ampaterry *TFF Admin Staff Chaplain* Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,710
    Location:
    West Tennessee
    We have three different Direct TV remotes, ranging in age from brand new to about ten years old. All operate the Vizio TV fine, using one of the codes I printed above.
  11. 68c15

    68c15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,526
    both the direct tv remote and the vizio remote that came with tv are not controlling set. I replaced batteries and then checked them with a digital camera. there is nothing in the way of IR sensor which is a 3/8" square on lower left corner of frame.

    should I use a 12g 3 1/2" BBB, .270 at 150 yds, .380 ACP at 25 yds, or .22 at 10 yds? or even better yet I can paste the pic of HB eating thin mint on screen prior to "repair"
  12. woolleyworm

    woolleyworm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,942
    Location:
    SW Fort Worth

    I'm opting for the .270, but not before you plaster a few ounces of tannerite to the front of it !

    You can always sell it and use the funds for the new set. Even without a remote, someone will want it for DVD's or video games.
  13. 68c15

    68c15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,526
    update;
    if I unplug it for a minute it will respond to the remote command to turn on. then 2 minutes later it tells me to go fly a kite.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
General Discussion One Never Knows Oct 18, 2012
General Discussion Who knows something about HAARP. May 24, 2012
General Discussion Got a question for the mods or anyone else that knows. Mar 11, 2012
General Discussion Who knows bug bites? Sep 11, 2011
General Discussion Seattle Pharamcist Packs a Glock, and Knows How to Use It Jun 4, 2011