Why does everyone hate Taurus?...

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by ponycar17, Feb 18, 2008.

1. ponycar17

ponycar17 Active Member

So, I partially know... They're 'fer-eign....' Yeah, ok, I know that, but why is it that every time there's a debate that emerges about large revolvers, it migrates towards Smith and Smith only?... Taurus makes a fine revolver with features that Smith is scared to attempt. I'm just curious why we choose to ignore Taurus?...

:confused:
  2. djohns6

djohns6 New Member

You'r right . People seem to turn their nose up at the mention of Taurus .
    I have no experience with them but wouldn't mind giving them a try .
  3. Rommelvon

Rommelvon New Member

good question, and I'm not sure I have an answer, I have seen plenty of taurus models that I like very much...perhaps it the low cost of the pistols that makes us feel like we are buying a cheap gun?. the new Taurus 809B-9mm is a great feeling gun, and a nice price to boot.
  4. CampingJosh

CampingJosh Moderator

I've not tried any of their revolvers, but their autos just seem to be balanced awkwardly for my tastes.
    I would love to try one sometime, though...
  5. Dakota Red 1

Dakota Red 1 New Member

I don't have a Taurus revolver so I don't hate them. I can only hate my PT1911. I hate it because I have never gotten to practice reducing a stoppage; never felt like doing all those fun modifications (except the walnut double diamonds, guess they don't have walnuts in Brasil) because I pretty much like it the way it is; never felt like adding more of Browning's .45 autos to my collection because I don't collect, I shoot.
    And if I ever wear out my big Smith, Colt or Ruger wheel guns, I would definately look into Taurus because I would probably hate them as much as I hate their autos.
  6. thunderstruck507

thunderstruck507 New Member