Why so many different calibers?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BigB, Mar 6, 2009.

1. BigB

BigB New Member

Hello all, I am new around here. I joined a couple of weeks ago. Found this place while trying to get some information and seem to check in and read the posts and put my two cents worth in once in a while. I am kinda new to firearms and hunting but in the last three or four years have become aquainted with both fields and enjoy them both. Lots to learn though. I am learning later than most about such things, I'm 51 and was never around either but have made friends that have shared these things with me.
    I am thinking that one thing that really gets my interest lately is the vast selection of different ammo. Every configuration of calibers you can think of. It is daunting. Some of the ammo choices are easy, like shotguns and .22s but from there it gets confusing. I would like to own a 30.06, I know it to be a long range accuracy round. But how does one learn what the characteristics are of all the other rounds and what they are good for. The guns I own are the basics, shotguns and .22s. How do I know what I might want in the future? Can anyone give me just a hint of preference might be. Thanks for any insight to a novice like myself. BigB
  2. Gewehrwolf

Gewehrwolf New Member

It really depends on what you intend to do with a particular caliber.

Do you want something for hunting, long range target shooting.......something like that??????
  3. ponycar17

ponycar17 Active Member

My wife would say there are so many just so I can put us in the poor house quicker... :D