1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

Winchester Model 1873 .44-40 Value Question?

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by CBO3, Jul 4, 2012.

1. CBO3

CBO3 New Member

Hello, I am new to this particular site & after browsing around for a bit, I think I'll be stay a while!:D I have a couple questions and need some clarification & hopefully a ballpark value of a Winchester 1873 rifle that I have.

Winchester Model 1873 .44-40 cal.
    *Serial No.102599 &(A) but after researching that portion of s/n is unknown.
    *Original 24" full round bbl & mag.
    *Original metal has a plumish brown coloration, but overall good condition.
    *Wood is in good/sound condition with a few dings & mars.
    *It is missing the 'dust cover', but do have another 1873 that I can replace
    it from if really necessary?? Recommended?
    *Question: there is a '2' on the under portion of the receiver, directly under
    the lever action (I think called the lower tang?) What is the meaning of
    this, if any at all?
    * I would assume it to be a 3rd model, but can someone validate that?
    *Is it worth getting the letter from the Buffalo Bill Museum in Cody, WY?

Any & all information & input is welcome and GREATLY APPRECIATED!!

Will upload more close-up & full pictures in tomorrow hopefully. Have a happy and safe 4th!

Attached Files:

2. CBO3

CBO3 New Member

More Pictures

Attached Files:

3. CBO3

CBO3 New Member

And also any suggestions on light cleaning would help? Flackseed Oil, Burlap Sacks, any specific wood cleaner/conditioner, etc...? Thanks! I will use the 'search' tool as well.
  4. Hammerslagger

Hammerslagger New Member