Winchester Model 61 -- EX with Original Box

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by Bronco, Feb 7, 2008.

1. Bronco

Bronco New Member

Hello All --

I recently ran across a Winchester Model 61 -- 22 rifle.

The rifle is in Excellent condition according to grading scales I have been able to look at on the internet.

Condition & particulars to the best of my ability:

It belongs to the original owner who bought it new around 1952.

No blue missing.

No scratches.

Approximately 80 - 100 rounds shot thru it -- cleaned -- put away -- never shot or handled since 1952 -- always kept in the house -- still in the original Winchester box it came in (box in very good shape).

Serial number is: 164339

Questions:

What is it worth?

How can we sell it for the best price?

Thanks in advance for your help. I am new at this, although I do repair and restore older fishing reels and belong to some tackle forums -- firearm values are new to me -- and I appreciate the experts guidance.

Sincerely,

Fred Oakes
    559-451-7316
    f_oakes@yahoo.com
    Fresno, CA, USA
  2. Contenderizer

Contenderizer New Member

Hi Fred and welcome.

Please don't be tempted to repair or restore this gun as you do with fishing reels. In fact, don't even touch it ... just smile at it.

M-61's have a great deal of value depending upon caliber (22 short, long or long rifle) and barrel type. If yours is "like new" (fired) in the original box, it may be worth $700. Or, perhaps, much, much more.

Winchester introduced the Model 61 in 1932 in an attempt to keep pace with its competitors' hammerless 22 rifles. The 61 featured a 24" round or octagonal barrel and could be ordered by the customer in various configurations. Collector interest in this rifle is high due to the fact that so many variations were offered.