Winchester Model 70 .270

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by MadMedic, Nov 5, 2006.

1. MadMedic

MadMedic New Member

Winchester Model 70 .270 (LARGE PICS)

I am a total newby to rifles of any kind, but I just inherited a Winchester Model 70 in .270. I don't know ANYTHING about it. My father-in-law just passed and my MIL gave it to me. The serial number is 285833 and on the bottom plate it says Super Grade. There is a scope and a sling on it (I don't know if that is standard or an add on). He lived in Mesa Arizona (no rust) but it does have some wear around the bolt handle on the wood. Since I don't hunt, I will probably sell it but don't want to get ripped off. Does anyone have any clues what it is and what it may be worth?

Thanks for your help!
    Nick
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2006
  2. ibtrukn

ibtrukn New Member

YO MM, serial # indicates 1953 bild date. This takes it into the pre-1964 COLLECTOR status. U say it is a Super grade, another plus. condition is everything, metal, wood, bore etc. Blue Book values (this is a GUIDE) not written in stone
    98%$2000\95%$1600\90%$1150\80%$1000
    The sling and scope is a plus, whot kind of scope ie Weaver K10, Redfield 3x9??.Can add $100 or more but most buyers figger the sling an scope as a "go along"
    Pre 64 Winchesters are considered the "cream" and the riflemans rifle. VERY collectible. B4 U sell do some homework. Look it up on www. Guns America or WWW. Gunbroker or Auction Arms or buy a copy of the Gun Digest newspaper, formerly the Gunlist
    Havin sed alladat IB goonna makeU mos genrus ofer a $500 American, IB B'n da woikin mans fren jus ast NE1 on dis site cept dat dam fool frumda chipfacteree, cuse dat suker gonna tellU nuthin but lyz:cool:
  3. MadMedic

MadMedic New Member