1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

Wooohooo I finally made it

Discussion in 'Disabled Hunters & Shooters Forum' started by Lapua Kid, Apr 8, 2012.

1. Lapua Kid

Lapua Kid New Member

I've been groundhog hunting for the last 13 , 14 years only to take the sport to a different level the last couple of years . For years I was happy shooting factory Varmint guns mostly 22/250's and 243's . Will about 5 years ago i tried taking a factory and truing it up I shot that gun very well it was a 6 x 47 Lapua . I decided to try the shorter fatter 6mm's I went to the 6ppc in a full fledged BR gun oh this gun would shoot an the shots started to increase in length . Will last year I purchase a fully custom built 1000 yard gun woohooo it weighs plenty . I started practicing at 500 yards in VA you dont get many of these shots .I was amazed at how i was able to group at 500 . Next thing you know I was groundhog hunting looking for the 500 + shots First groundhog i missed i threw dirt up on him he was 508 yards .Then my second shot came about the next time out will I set scope on 22 power for hold over estaimated my hold over and touched it off must watched it 20 minutes before pulling . I got in Van drove around to location an used the Leica to confirm it was 542 yards . I finally got the 500 yard shot and connected .This w/c kid is grinning from ear to ear . Guys get out enjoy yourself I was injuried in a falling accident 18 years ago Spinal Cord Injury para this past Christmas found out I had Colon Cancer .Enjoy while you can .God Bless Happy Easter:) Lifes to short enjoy

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 8, 2012
  2. jbrescue

jbrescue New Member

Enjoy it and live to the fullest. Sorry to hear about your health. Great shooting.
  3. Zane71464

Zane71464 Well-Known Member