Wooohooo I finally made it

Discussion in 'Disabled Hunters & Shooters Forum' started by Lapua Kid, Apr 8, 2012.

1. Lapua Kid

Lapua Kid New Member

I've been groundhog hunting for the last 13 , 14 years only to take the sport to a different level the last couple of years . For years I was happy shooting factory Varmint guns mostly 22/250's and 243's . Will about 5 years ago i tried taking a factory and truing it up I shot that gun very well it was a 6 x 47 Lapua . I decided to try the shorter fatter 6mm's I went to the 6ppc in a full fledged BR gun oh this gun would shoot an the shots started to increase in length . Will last year I purchase a fully custom built 1000 yard gun woohooo it weighs plenty . I started practicing at 500 yards in VA you dont get many of these shots .I was amazed at how i was able to group at 500 . Next thing you know I was groundhog hunting looking for the 500 + shots First groundhog i missed i threw dirt up on him he was 508 yards .Then my second shot came about the next time out will I set scope on 22 power for hold over estaimated my hold over and touched it off must watched it 20 minutes before pulling . I got in Van drove around to location an used the Leica to confirm it was 542 yards . I finally got the 500 yard shot and connected .This w/c kid is grinning from ear to ear . Guys get out enjoy yourself I was injuried in a falling accident 18 years ago Spinal Cord Injury para this past Christmas found out I had Colon Cancer .Enjoy while you can .God Bless Happy Easter:) Lifes to short enjoy

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 8, 2012
  2. jbrescue

jbrescue New Member

Enjoy it and live to the fullest. Sorry to hear about your health. Great shooting.
  3. Zane71464

Zane71464 Well-Known Member

500 + yards on a groundhog....it dont get much better than that!!! Congrat's on the
    shot! That's a heck of a long ways. For the people that isnt used to shooting much past