you guys talk me into buying my first Dillon Press

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by dbcooper, Mar 5, 2012.

1. dbcooper

dbcooper Well-Known Member

I have a Lee Loadmaster and a Lee Pro 1000

I like the Pro 1000 for what it is. I do not try to use the priming feature as I know how fickle the system can be. I just hand prime all of my rifle cases. Its no big deal to me. The Pro 1000 does a great job for me.

now the Loadmaster has a few thousand rounds through it and frankly last night I was ready to take a 5/16 truckers chain and drag it down the interstate

Its like a Rube Goldberg machine, each part effects another part and you end up really messing with it more than you do putting out ammo

I'm ready to look a different press. something I can do 200 rounds an hour and I don't care if I have to place the case in manually and the bullet as well

I just want to do that, pull the handle and make a round without something screwing up

I have heard good things about the 550 and I have read about Dillons no BS warranty

so, go ahead, tell me what you think I should look into
  2. dbcooper

Last edited: Mar 5, 2012
  3. RustyFN

RustyFN Member

Sorry I can't compare to the LM because I have never used one. I have a Lee classic turret and can load close to 200 rounds per hour. I also have a Dillon 550. The 550 is a very easy progressive press to use. Not much can go wrong with it. I just bought it in December last year so I haven't had it very long but have been very happy so far. It is also fairly easy to do caliber changes on.
  4. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member