12 gauge reloading

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by welsh95, Dec 20, 2015.

1. welsh95

welsh95 New Member

Hello, I am new to the hobby of casting and reloading ammo and had a few questions. The question I did have incase anyone were to know the answer was the shells I bought came pre primed and are high brass 2 3/4 inch. The wads I bought are CB1138-12, I have a lee 1oz slug casting mold and the primers are regular Winchester 209. From my reloading book it only shows 1 1/8oz shot weight with the wads and primers that match and it calls for Blue Dot smokeless powder. My only concern is because the slugs are only 1oz will the powder load be to much without the extra 1/8oz it calls for?

2. gunnut1215

gunnut1215 Well-Known Member

welcome to the forum from Maine. I am newly introduced into the reloading worl so not much help, but better heads than mine will guide you right.

welsh95 likes this.

3. welsh95

welsh95 New Member

Thank you for the link, unfortunately I already have that sheet it came with my casting mold. The problem is what I have isn't on that specific sheet.

Thanks for the welcome! I am looking forward to increasing my knowledge and trying this out!

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 21, 2015
  4. hunter29180

hunter29180 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

5. SkeeterDope

SkeeterDope Well-Known Member

I suggest you follow the slug recipe as it is written shotgun reloading is very unforgiving as their load pressures are under 12,000.

welsh95 likes this.
  6. welsh95

welsh95 New Member

Alright so if I follow a different one then I should buy different wads completely? I was hoping there was a way around that but if not I guess I will just have to buckle down and do it.

7. bumblebee

bumblebee Well-Known Member