The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a 1903A3 30-06 that my grandfather left to me. I have been shooting it since I was a kid, and it was recently in storage while I was deployed, I returned to find it broken, thank you military moving companies that will not accept the liability. I have not even tried to shoot it since. You can see why in the photos. My question is, in its condition is it still considered a collectors item and should I put it up on the wall as a keep sake, or my other option is to replace the stock, and at that point put a scope on it to use to hunt with for me, and later my son. I know how to use a firearm's, and have since I was a kid, and then in my career in the military but I am just beginning to learn about them, manufacturing and the history behind some of the weapons he left to me. So I need so help from the Pros! If you had this weapon what would you do with it? The photo on this weapon showing the stamps reads

d 1903A3 CAL 30-06
NATL ORD
SO-Monte CAL

The stamp on the end of the barrel reads

RA
8-44
There are no stamps or numbers on any of the weapons stock, or any of the wood at all for that matter.

Second I have heard numbers for the value of the second weapon I have photo of, it is a Russian SKS, in very good condition aside from a scratch you will see in the photos, its by far one of my favorite guns to shoot, and is the most reliable rifle I have ever used. I can recall it ever jamming, and it shoots great groups at up to 300 yards, I have not used it much further than that. What is a reasonable value for this weapon, not selling, just curious.

Currently it will not post the photos, i will contact admin and try to get them up asap, sorry for screwing this up

·
Registered
7,994 Posts