1940's military weapons

Discussion in 'General Military Arms & History Forum' started by Kaden, Nov 14, 2017.

1. Kaden

Kaden New Member

I'm a 24 year old writer, and the novel I am currently working on will have one flashback scene involving a crime ring in 1949 Boston. I have no knowledge of guns whatsoever, and Google has proven unhelpful, so I figured I would get some personal advice from people with the knowledge base I need!

The scene I'm writing will involve a single gun, but it needs to be silenced. I know commercial silencers were available at the time, I just don't know what types of guns were available that could use a silencer. Military or commercial grade doesn't matter, it's a crime ring for a reason ;)

(If this is an inappropriate use of this forum, I apologize. I write a lot of novels involving guns, so I hoped any knowledge I learn here could be used in the future as well. Thank you!)

rooter and Jack Ryan like this.
  2. Jjramrod

Jjramrod New Member

A colt 1911 could be silenced and available and a large enough caliber to warrant a silecer in that era and fairly easy to obtain while also being a military pistol although most crime rings in that era would not usually use a silencer and most would be using revolvers

3. Old Guns

Old Guns Well-Known Member

Silencers were not a very big deal in those days. One type of gun that was silenced by both the military and the civilian market were 22 Semi Automatic pistols. A silencer on them was very efficient and could be used in a covert operation to not draw attention or as a civilian just to keep the noise down. You still these old 22s once in a while with threads from a silencer.

4. ral357

ral357 Well-Known Member

22s, 32s, 380s, 9mm, 45 acp would all be candidates in 1949 Boston. If size is not an issue 45 or 9, a gun that needed to be carried discretely one of the lesser calibers would likely be used. A Walter PP in 32 might be the best compromise in size vs power......

5. Alpo