The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new, I mean brand new to reloading. I've got the Lyman, Speer and Hornady reloading books and can't find what the min. case length is. I see the trim length is 1.750 with the max being 1.760
I've been saving brass on and off for the last 3-4 years thinking I may get into reloading.
Now to the point. Probably 20% of my spent shell casings are below the 1.750, some as short as 1.741. Are these short casings reloadable or trash?
I know only one guy who reloads and only starts off with purchased primerless brass and he could not answer this one.
What do you guys think?'
Thanks, Ed

·
Banned
2,751 Posts
Case length should be measured after it is Full Length sized, not before. FL sizing usually makes it grow.

No, the short cases(after FL sizing) are not junk. Load em and shoot em. If you are not going to crimp, they will be fine and will grow with each firing and sizing. When they get close to 1.760 trim to 1.750.

·
Super Moderator
41,418 Posts
Load em and shoot em! If it has a neck on it and can grip a bullet then load it up. (I'm sure I am going to get some heat on that statement.)

I do not trim mine until they get over the 1.760, then I trim to 1.750 as steve states.

·
Registered
18,041 Posts
I'd have to agree. I've hit a few 30-06 cases that came to me short and were still shorter than trim length after fl resize.. on these, i load up for a boltgun and forgo the rollcrimp I usualy use ( as the crimp area is gone anyway. ).

typically i've found after 1-2 shootings they are hitting or exceeding trim length anyway.. since I rollcrimp.. I trim after each firings back to 'trim to' specs..

now if I found one drastically shorter at the neck I would take pause.. but not .009 short.

·
Super Moderator
41,418 Posts
Nice setup you have there, just much neater than mine.