The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I am new to reloading and am a little confused on case length. The manuals say the 'trim to' length is 2.484". I have a bunch of once fired brass out of my Remington 700 .30-06 (using Remington and Hornady Factory loads). I figured since i have only fired them once, I wouldnt need to trim. However, these cases are measuring at 2.594". So i bought a Lyman EZ Trim and used the .30-06 length gage and it only shaved it down to 2.591". What gives?
I even measured an unfired rounds case and it measures 2.582". Can anyone help a new guy out and shed some light on this. Do I need to trim to this? Obviously I would think so since its in the manual, but I never thought I'd need to trim that much brass off.
Also, any tips on finding the correct seating depth for your rifle would be appreciated, (step by step would be very helpful). I am using Nosler BT 180 grain bullets.
Thank you for any help, much appreciated!
MNBull

·
Registered
17,295 Posts
Sounds to me like your measuring tool is lying. Either it is off or you are reading it incorrectly.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wow, do I feel like an idiot. Just inspected the caliper more and there was a small metal shaving in the groove where it slides. In my haste, i wanted to hurry the process and did not check caliper well enough. I've been zeroing it off this..... Lesson learned. Ahhh, the infinite wisdom of a newbie!!.....

·
Registered
17,295 Posts
Well, at least you asked before you cut all your brass 1/8 inch too short.

·
Registered
8,000 Posts
That was another good call, Alpo.

I have gotten into the habit of wipeing down my tools - especially measuring tools - with a clean cloth whenever I get them out to use. Most folks would be surprised as to how nuch dust and lint will gather on those things. I think mnbull can testify how far off those readings can be with a tool that is not clean.