The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been reloading for several years. I've been shooting my Marlin Lever Rifle. My first time reloading 30-30 and I managed to trim my cases to 2.016". I realized that per my Hornady manual, I should have trimmed to 2.029". I am loading 170gr. InterLock bullets with a crimp ring. Should I:
- Charge my cartridges, set my noses to the (recommended) 2.53" COL with no crimp, and shoot them individually (not from the magazine)?
- Charge my cartridges, set my noses to the crimp ring, crimp them and go with the shorter overall length?
- Use lower powder loads?
- Punt and pitch my brass?
Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
42,676 Posts
I would load them as usual and shoot them. My Speer manual shows the trim to length as 2.030 but I can't really see 13 or 14 thousands of an inch causing any problems. I do think I would go with the 2.53 OAL with no (or very little) crimp.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would load them as usual and shoot them. My Speer manual shows the trim to length as 2.030 but I can't really see 13 or 14 thousands of an inch causing any problems. I do think I would go with the 2.53 OAL with no (or very little) crimp.
Kinda what I was thinking.....
I appreciate your advice!

·
Registered
3,653 Posts
I have this when I convert .284Win to 7.5Swiss - the cases are a tad short in the neck. They shoot fine. Should work fine in Thutty-thutty too.

·
Registered
5,238 Posts
I have this when I convert .284Win to 7.5Swiss - the cases are a tad short in the neck. They shoot fine. Should work fine in Thutty-thutty too.
Unless used in single shot mode or in a bolt action or a single shot, 30-30 ammo needs cannelured bullets and a roll crimp. This is because in tube magazine lever rifles magazine tube spring pressure and recoil will push the bullets back into the case.

·
Registered
5,238 Posts