30/30 for pig??

Discussion in 'The Hunting & Fishing Forum' started by warpig, Mar 18, 2003.

1. warpig

warpig Guest

stogieboy
    (3/13/03 9:19:25 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del All 30/30 for pig??
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I am new to hunting, and was curious if I'd be OK hunting pig in Norhtern California with a Marlin lever action 30/30. Am I off base? On the right track?

kdub01
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (3/13/03 10:28:45 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: 30/30 for pig??
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    You'll be OK - fine rifle and good cartridge. Just don't try to shoot further than 200 yds - the ol' thuty-thuty has a trajectory akin to a thrown baseball.
    "Keep Off The Ridgeline"

MTaylor
    V.I.P. Member
    (3/14/03 8:36:16 am)
    That's what I use...although in Win 94. Of course, my longest shot in East Texas is about 30 yards...

Dinkydo
    (3/14/03 9:42:07 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del
    Re: 30/30 for pig??
    30/30 is fine, have taken pigs in AZ. with my 94

stogieboy
    (3/17/03 9:56:55 am)
    Hey thanks for the info folks. Looks like I'm on the right track so far. I actually don't own the Marlin 336 yet, but plan to purchase one in the coming days.

Do people put a scope on a Marlin 336? Are they outfitted for a scope? Is it necessary?

Thanks again for your help.

kdub01
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (3/17/03 1:07:58 pm)
    All those questions depend on how good your eyes are, what ranges you're shooting at and the degree of accuracy you're trying to achieve.

Yes, many people put scopes on Marlin 336 rifles.

Yes, the receiver is tapped and then plugged with blank screws which allow the attachment of either scope mounts or rear receiver sights (peep type).