The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I'm by no means an expert at rifles so I'm hoping you all can help.

I recently inherited this (I'm told) a .303 rifle from my late father in law. I'm hoping with the pictures someone will be able to help identify this rifle.

Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks all!

· Banned
17,505 Posts
this could well be one of my butcher jobs

its a 1944 rebuilt in 47 ( total refurbished stamped on it )

now sporterised

value not a lot take off $100-$200 for the sporterising job from a decent quality original

lot of export markings

this is common a lot of folks bought these in budles of 100 and sporterised them for the local market

here i did similar turning many into 22/250's or 308's

looks like the original barrel so would say its still .303

· Registered
6,391 Posts
The rifle is (or was) a Rifle No. 4, Mark 1, made by BSA, Shirley, Code M47, in 1944.

The overstamp "ENGL" (England) is the country of origin (COO) mark required for import into the U.S. The COO instead of the current import mark indicates the rifle was imported into the U.S. prior to 1968.

The rifle has been heavily modified, including working the magazine over to reduce its capacity from the original ten rounds to (probably) five to comply with hunting laws. Value is in the neighborhood of $100 or so, purely as a hunting rifle. Its collector value has been destroyed and cannot be restored.

The sporter stock is a Bishop; that company, now out of business, made a wide variety of sporter stocks for military surplus rifles. They were of good quality and sold at a reasonable price.

HTH

Jim

· Premium Member
14,218 Posts
The sling swivel mounted on the triggerguard's forward screw, plus what appears to be the rear "pad" of a No.32 Scope's mounting fixture, would seem to suggest this old warhorse started life as a No.4 Mk.1(T) sniper rifle.

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·