The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading and have a Dillon XL 650, I am having an issue when I am resizing my 40 cal cases. I know about the Glock bulging problem with leaving a bulge in the case, but my problem is when the cases are sized it puts a bulge into the bottom of the case, not a huge bulge but enough for the finished bullet not to fit into the case gauge. I thought that i was sizing them to deep so backed off the die then thought i wasn't going deep enough so screwed the die in further, still get the same result. Is there anything else that I should know that i may not be doing right? Keep in mind that these cases look fine before i re-size them after they come out of the die they have the bulge toward the bottom of the case almost near the taper. Am i just gonna have to get the Lee debulge kit and run these cases through it after i size them?

·
Registered
280 Posts
The sizing die should be adjusted so as to just touch the shell holder. You didn’t say if you are using Dillon dies or not, they have a large radius at the end of the die and may not size as far down the case as some other options. Thus the portion that doesn’t get sized appears bulged. The Lee kit may just be the right move for you.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Sorry, I am using Lee dies, and with those dies the sizing die does not go all the way down to the plate when first screwed in. There is still a small gap between the plate and the die. Thank you, i believe that i will get the Lee bulge buster kit.

·
Registered
1,325 Posts
i just gonna have to get the Lee debulge kit and run these cases through it after i size them?
This^^^

A .40 reloaders standard equipment, I no longer shoot this cartrige for this reason; it must sized twice.... FYI, keep in mind, glocks arent the only unsupported chambers out there, maybe the most common though.

·
Registered
609 Posts