The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to reloading. I have some components to start but have some questions. I have Hodgdon Universal and Berry's 124gr RN plated bullets. The Hodgdon data says to use 130gr Berry's RN with universal and from what I can tell Berry's does not even sell a 130gr 9mm. Can I use these bullets and if so what would be a good starting load? They show a Berry's CN bullet that is 124gr with Universal which will give an idea of how much powder to start with but since I am using a RN what would the COL be? Can I do this?

here is their 130gr data.

130 GR. BERB RN Hodgdon Universal .356" 1.150" 3.8 857 26,600 PSI 4.2 978

·
Registered
761 Posts
I'm new to reloading also. And am told you can't always match components up exactly. If your gunna use different data. Always start with lowest charge and work up very slow and look for signs of pressure. Your oal just remember when you seat a bullet the deeper the bullet is seated the more pressure you'll have. Only your gun will tell you what's a good oal, all guns are different. Your load book should tell you how to take your gun apart and find a oal it should be under headspace. As long as the round cycles good and shoots that's a good oal. Mine for the 9mm is 1.06" with a 147 and 1.10" with a 124. Just examples of different oals. I'm too new to be giving you data I'm still learning. But those are just basics that I've been told.

·
Super Moderator
41,379 Posts
I would not use the data for a 130 grain bullet!!!

I am looking at the Lyman #49 manual, the closest thing I can find to what you are asking is they have a 125 grain Jacketed bullets listed with a minimum of 4.0 of Universal and a maximum of 4.5 grains. That half a grain is not a lot of spread just like on the one you show with a spread of 4 tenths of a grain.