The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new at this reloading game and was looking for some help. I've been reloading 115 jacketed 9mm and they have been working good in both my SW and Beretta PX-4 storm, but I have some flyers so I thought I'd try 124 XTP. I switched from HP-38 powder to Accurate #2. Now Acc #2 calls for less grains which is understandable, but the spent brass gets hung up on the SW and jams the Beretta. I increased the powder to the max and it helped alittle, but unreliable. I'm thinking its the powder, some tell me the weight 124 vs. 115, which I'm not buying. This is the first time I used Acc #2 because as everyone knows everything has been hard to find and this is all they had that was rated for 124 XTP. Since I'm new I'm sure theres something I'm not catching so any help from the pros out there would be apprieciated. Thanks.

· Registered
570 Posts
Im no pro but I'll pitch in anyway. I am assuming that your manual (or manuals) has a listing for the bullet/powder combo? If not, find a listing. There may be a reason if there isnt one. So assuming there is, you are getting failures to extract and jams, with sufficient powder charge? Pistol has proven reliable feeding with other ammo so we can pretty much rule that out. Did you happen to clean it prior to trying this new load, maybe over-oiling the chamber? An oily chamber can cause the fired case to stick just a little. Just a thought, but nothing else is making much sense.

· Registered
3,584 Posts
The Hornady 7th Ed. does have 9mm 115gr load data for AA#2. It's a poor performer though...looks like a real fast burning powder for that particular combination to me. I'm sure this is why it's not listed as a choice for the heavier bullet weights, and maybe was dropped from the newer editions of the manual too. (Yeah, I need to get a newer Hornady manual someday).