The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Administrator
11,910 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need an acraglas kit for a stock I'm fitting to an action. I cannot find one anywhere. All are backordered. I've checked Brownell, Midway, Midsouth, Amazon and a wide internet search.

Anyone have a suggestion?

Dang near anything firearm related is becoming out of stock.

·
GUNZILLA
6,443 Posts
Does it have to be acraglas. You could use JB weld, or metal tape.

Reactions: tuckerd1

·
Administrator
11,910 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This will be my first bedding job, so I'm new at this. I have seen JB Weld advertised. How stable is it when cured?

·
GUNZILLA
6,443 Posts
Very stable, it sets in about 20 to 25 minutes and takes about 14 to 16 hours to cure. I use the neutral shoe polish for the release agent which works good. Since it takes a few minutes to set it allows you to correct any mistakes. Just be generous with the release agent.

Reactions: tuckerd1

·
Administrator
11,910 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
When I did that 700 BDL, I used JB Weld epoxy.
BTW, did you ever finish that thread with the final results? I probably missed it when I was out west.

·
Registered
4,335 Posts
I have used Bedrock when I can't find any Acraglas .
As for a release agent, I have try most everything from wax polish to pam cooking spray. What I now use is what ever comes in the kit.

·
GUNZILLA
6,443 Posts
If you get the JB weld they do have a fast setting one that sets in about 6 minutes and cures in about 4 hours but I prefer more setting time as I'm all thumbs when delicate work is required.

·
Administrator
11,910 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I will not be using the fast setting kits. I definitely need time to be on my side.

·
Premium Member
135 Posts
This will be my first bedding job, so I'm new at this. I have seen JB Weld advertised. How stable is it when cured?