advice on walther

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by y25singh, Apr 5, 2009.

1. y25singh

y25singh New Member

hello all...a newbie here...just got a pistol walther PPK 7.75 but was not sure if its the right thing or not ...looks more like a PP but has Mod.PPk written on the slide...kindly advice

Attached Files:

2. TranterUK

TranterUK Guest

I can tell you this, the PPk has a 3" barrel and the PP has a 4" barrel. Seems to me you have a PP there, not a PPk.

Also the two calibres available were 7.65mm (.32acp), which yours is, and 9mm short (.380").

This may sound silly, but does it look as if the k on PPk could have been added?

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 5, 2009

3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

I agree, that's a PP. The barrel's too long, the grip frame is too long, and the grips don't appear to wrap around the gun.

4. Danny

Danny Member

Hello,
    As U guys know I have been collecting both the prewar PP' and PPK's for many years.
    First of all the ppk ono this pp is bogus. 2nd the pistol looks like it has had an intence amount of cold blue or dipped, as the Russians have been doing to the Lugers and P38's. 3rd is the fact that the SN# on the frame is non existing in the prewar or WW2 era. So it is also bogus. I really hope you did not put much money in this fake pistol?
    Regards
    Danny

5. TranterUK

TranterUK Guest

I am very interested in this case. In what way is the pistol fake? Is it perhaps a copy, (there were many PP clones) marked up as a Walther and they got the markings wrong? Or is it a post war Manhurin French made Walther PP marked as a PPk to make it more desirable?

My guess is it is a post war Manhurin made in France under licence to Walther (as I think all post war Walthers were 52-86) and the k was added just to enhance desirability. If true, the addition of the k is the only bogus thing.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 5, 2009
  6. Teejay9

Teejay9 New Member