The Firearms Forum banner

After FL Sizing - Cartridge is VERY Tight - Please help

2K views 23 replies 7 participants last post by  Don Fischer 
#1 ·
Loading for a buddy's 7MMRem Mag. After sizing, the cartridge is very tight. You have to force the bolt down, in most cases. The same FL Sized cases fit fine in my 7mm. Factory ammo and new brass chamber perfect....but I have never had this problem in his rifle. I have been loading for about 8 years, so I'm not as seasoned as most hand loaders. Does this make any sense? Thanks to all.

#3 ·
Hey Mak, thanks much for your reply. They are trimmed, not a full .010" though. Factory new brass works fine. 7MM max length is 2.500", I trimmed to about 2.493". My buddy's rifle is an older S&W Model 1500, mine is a Sako Finlight (much newer) and my loads chamber smooth as silk. I just can't understand it. Thinking about screwing the die down another 1/8 turn?

#13 ·
I got an idea there's your answer. Sounds like you set your sizing die for your own rifle using partial sizing. Often the same die will do just as your saying, your rubbing the shoulder. Screw the die all the way down to the shell holder and size one and see if it works. Set properly to factory spec's you shouldn't gain a thing by turning down another 1/8 turn.

#9 ·
I'd bet the problem is in the re-size operation. The case shoulder isn't being set-back enough. While the 7mm Mag headspaces on the case belt, it still has a case shoulder, and when it is fired - and the case expands to seal the breach - the shoulder is likely expanded forward. It needs to be re-set to chamber again, especially in another rifle.

As to 'why the cases chamber easy in YOUR rifle and you have to force the bolt in HIS rifle'? The answer is that your chambers are not identical. Firearms are like finger prints - each one is slightly different from the others. Yours might have a wee-bit more tolerance than his.

#10 ·