The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's another item from my father's collection for which I have no background or history. It appears to be significantly older than the majority of his other long guns, and has some really interesting (to me, anyway lol) etchings on the metal portions. The absence of any model or serial number stampings also lead me to believe this shotgun may be relatively unique.

I would want to make certain I have at least some idea of its value before considering offering it for sale. Thanks in advance for any insight you may be able to offer!

IMG_9118.JPG
IMG_9121.JPG
IMG_9122.JPG
IMG_9123.JPG
IMG_9124.JPG
IMG_9125.JPG
IMG_9126.JPG
IMG_9127.JPG

·
Banned
2,001 Posts
To get things started you have what is known as a Prussian Daly. The serial no. is 2042 as seen on the trigger guard. It is at least pre WWII and may well be Pre WWI. It is a pigeon or trap shotgun intended for competition shooting. The recoil pad hurts the value and was added later in the guns life. We need to see very sharp pictures of the markings on the underside of the barrel and maybe on the inside of the receiver. This is a very nice gun by the way.

·
Premium Member
14,457 Posts
Prussian Daly's are highly desirable and that one being in trap guise might have significant value. As OG mentioned clear pictures of the proofs on the bottom of the barrel and on the receiver might tell a great deal about the gun.

Being a dolls head extension, that tapered knob that drops into the top of the receiver, dates it pretty much as OG mentioned, at least pre-WWII and perhaps pre-WWI. Proofs should tell the story. Unless it's had the chamber lengthened it will require 2 1/2 in. shells rather than the newer 2 3/4 with the folded crimp.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·