Am I better off jammed into the lands or seated too deep? (30-06)

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Distinct_Editz, Feb 25, 2018.

Seated Deep or Jammed Into the Lands?

1. Seat it Deep

2. Jam it into the Lands

3. WTF are you doing?

4. Other

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Distinct_Editz

Distinct_Editz Member

I am new to reloading and have a what seems to be, unusual question. I'm reloading 30-06 with 168gr A-Max and IMR 4064 (46.7gn to start with). The load manual calls for a Min. OAL for never exceed charges @3.330" however, Using the Hornady OAL gauge my gun likes these A-Max's seated no longer than 3.180"????? Or 2.570 O-Give OAL. I'm aware that seating these bullets so deep will increase pressures and also aware bullets being jammed into the lands increases pressures. Which of the two will result in higher pressures? Also, I am looking for accuracy so what would be more accurate... A (possibly) reduced load to compensate for the shorter OAL and seat the bullet just off the lands or leave it be and jam it into the lands and load it like normal. I have some testing to do but do not want to blow anything up in the process.

Last edited: Feb 25, 2018
  2. dbcooper

dbcooper Well-Known Member

When you load the longer OAL loaded round into the gun, does the bolt close smoothly?

Firpo, shootbrownelk and One Shot like this.

3. Old Guns

Old Guns Well-Known Member Supporting Member

What kind of gun. Picture of bullet. Have you done a chamber cast to see if the rifling starts to soon? A 168 grain bullet should not hit the rifling when properly seated. Neither situation is a good one.

4. sharps4590

sharps4590 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

Seat the bullet with the ogive .010 off the lands to start. each rifle is an entity unto itself and your chamber might not correspond to COAL's. I can't imagine the start load of nearly any powder would present a difficulty.