The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,427 Posts
I have no experience with the carbine, but the bottom line is,,,if you like it and you feel confident with it, then don't worry what others may say. As with any gun...Practice, Practice, Practice! JM2C

·
Registered
180 Posts
"Ugly and awkward" Wow, I did not like that label when I was a kid, I do not like it now! My dad should never have given my Sister that nic-name. His nic-name for me was "Why do you look like the mailman, when we owe the butcher so much?" I think your Hi-Point is lovely, though I cannot see her eyes. What kind of optics? How much does you Hi Point weigh? My newest baby is a 9mm Ruger Charger Pistol, at 5.2 lbs, I think she has a little weight issue, then again, so did my Sister. I AM proud of her (Charger), she shoots better than I do. I installed a "EOTECH" clone (knock-off) red/green dot paired with a SIGHT MARK 5X magnifier.

·
Registered
2,191 Posts
We had one around here in 9mm for awhile. Shot lots of bullets out of it and it didn't have any issues to worry over. The rails were plastic and moved around some but the sight stayed within a predetermind amout of slop. Its not a precision target gun but is still more accurate than most handguns.

My biggest or main issue with it was the butt stock pad mounted with springs that let the rifle move a 1/2' or so when fired. The check piece was textured and like a rasp on your face and it would actually scratch your face when just shooting it a few times. The 9mm and likely the 45 as well dont need this spring shock thing to begin with because there isn't enough recoil for it. Felt recoil is actually more with the springs in. We had to remove the spring feature in the stock butt plate and smooth the check rest out before we started having fun with it.

We called it "the monkey gun" because it kinda looks like the guns used in the early planet of the apes movies.

·
Registered
972 Posts