The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
9,374 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Question??? The first Bushmaster Carbon AR-15 that I bought this week had a horrible trigger. The one that I purchased today has a decent trigger and I am sure that after I tear it down and put a little SBGO on it and then shoot it some that it will get better. However, is it possible to smoothen it up a little without purchasing a Timney trigger?

· Registered
6,137 Posts
There are lots of good aftermarket AR triggers other than the Timney. If you go the replacement route, do some research before you order something.

And yes, basically any factory trigger can be improved at least a bit. But I am not competent to give advice on how to do so, so you'll have to wait for one of the 'smiths.

· Registered
500 Posts
Let me know what you think of the carbon. A couple of friends have asked me about it but I have no experience with the rifle.
The only carbon I have is a Browning Buckmark Carbon Rifle.... just 22lr

· Registered
19,684 Posts
Rock River Arms has a great 3.5 lb two stage match trigger that can be bought for well under 100 bucks if you look around a bit

CMMG also has a very nice trigger kit for around 100 bucks I think

I would say be very careful with working on a mil spec trigger by polishing on it.

you can take it too far and ruin your trigger

· Registered
1,223 Posts
When I put together my lower I used a RRA LPK with the single stage trigger and all the contact surfaces of the the trigger and fire control group were highly polished and smooth as a baby's butt. As a result the trigger pull is silky smooth.

I wouldn't recommend grinding anything, but you could get a polish wheel for your Dremel tool and use some Flitz on the trigger surface to make sure they're nice & smooth without any burrs.

Other than that, you can install a Geissele Trigger in it, but they're spendy at around $210