The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks,
Recently acquired a Beretta 950 B with a long barrel, like the picture at the end of this post. In any case, when I fire a round the used casing is ejected and a new round is loaded in the chamber, but the hammer is not cocked. In fact, sometimes it will fire two (or occasionally even three!) rounds with a single pull of the trigger. Though this might be desirable in some cases, I don't think this is how this pistol is supposed to work.

I guess I'd have a tiny monster on my hands if my gun fired all seven shots (six in the magazine and one in the chamber) with one pull of the trigger. I'm new to guns in general and I'm amazed at the weird whiny sound it makes when two rounds go off at (almost) the same time. I happens incredibly fast. Muuuch faster than any automatic weapon I've ever heard firing. But I would rather have the control of one trigger pull, one shot, and to know how many rounds I still have in the magazine.

I'm no expert, but I'm guessing the the the force of firing a round is not enough to overcome the hammer spring far enough to latch the hammer in the cocked position but is enough to eject the casing and load the new round. And I'm also guessing that it blows the hammer back enough that when it returns to the uncocked position it hits the firing pin hard enough that it fires the next round.

Can anybody confirm my thinking or otherwise guide me as to what might be going on and how to correct it?

If this thread is in the WRONG Forum, PLEASE point me to the RIGHT one.

Many thanks!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm retired, living the ex-pat life in central Mexico and the only ammo I can get is the Mexican Aguila brand.
Eye Product Cosmetics Lipstick Font