The Firearms Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been reloading for about a year and have done only smokeless powder loading for CAS. I want to try loading black powder cartridges and will likely use a BP substitute like Pyrodex. With that, can I use coated cast lead bullets without any extra lube or is lube always necessary for every BP application? Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
3,731 Posts
I'm no expert . When you say coated do you mean already has lube in the grooves ? I do make my own black powder lube and use Lee Alox stuff for my smokeless cast bullets . Best I can say is you need to figure out if the lube on your bullets are for BP or smokeless . There is a difference and if use smokeless lube for BP it can gum up real bad . I don't know about Pyrodex substitute what it is considered . Sorry if not much help or I totally miss read your question . One question why decide BP substitute ? Many say it can cause rust easier then real BP . Each their own , it's ok just saying if you can't find the substitute BP is good .

·
Registered
12,977 Posts
Lube on a bp round reduces the powder fouling and helps keep it soft. Powder coating won't do this. You need a natural lube like SPG. Petroleum based lubes will make powder fouling worse. SPG will work for both BP loads and smokeless loads. Whether you use real BP or a substitute BP it will need lube and it will need to be cleaned as soon as you can after firing.

·
Premium Member
17,663 Posts