The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a real nice Brit 303 shoots real good but my brass is scored and bulged I took a pic but its kidda hard to see what you all think it is and can I fix it

Attachments

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
All of the brass what's a good way to check the chamber

·
Registered
30 Posts
Not real familar with the 303 if bolt action remove bolt and try to look into the firing chamber. If you have any plastic tools or any items to probe into the chamber with out scratching the chamber to feel for imperfections. Im not a pro mind you and real new to reloading. Just giving out ideas I would do. Good luck.

·
Banned
5,428 Posts
I'm guessing that this is happening when firing the round. My suspicion would be that the bolt is not closing on the cartridge tight and when it fires the cartridge is slamming back a small distance onto the face of the bolt. Open the bolt, insert a cartridge fully into the barrel, lay a piece of paper on the back of the cartridge and close the bolt. Open the bolt and see if you can notice any indentation on the paper. If you don't see any, take a lead pencil and using the side of the lead gently color the paper and see if you get an outline of the base of the cartridge (like making a gravestone rubbing).

If with the cartridge fully seated you get no impression at all on the paper, add a second piece and try again. The bolt should be up against the cartridge when it fires. You should see clearly that this is so on a piece of paper between the bolt and the cartridge.

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Got to get some more ammo in the morning
When trying the paper thing with the fired brass it fits real tight it presses a few of the stamps from the back of the brass in to the paper

·
Banned
5,428 Posts