The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, Im new to reloading, in fact I havent even set up my machine yet. I got my Hornady digital scale yesterday and decided to calibrate it, used the supplied 100gr weight and it was off a bit. I then put a 95gr Remington bullet on and several bullets read 95.4, 95.6, 95.9, 96.0 etc. Is this typical or is my scale off or what. I only paid 30 bucks for this scale but it got good reviews so I figured it would be ok.

G

·
1. They are remington bullets. They are known to be the low end of bullets. I have seen them have a spread like this. I myself would never shoot Remington bullet. Not a big deal a bullet is a bullet. Just don't load them to max loads and you will be OK. I would buy a box of Sierra or Hornady bullets in the same weight and check the scale with them. I have never had either with bullets outside of .1 grain of their specified weight.

2. The scale might also be slightly off. Make sure there are no cell phones, cordless phones, electric motors, flo lights, extension cords, or power lines around the scale. Also make sure it is in an area with NO air movement.

· Premium Member
3,801 Posts
Most of my reloading is for range use with bulk fmj or lswc bullets and I find that variance in weight between individual bullets to be the norm. I did purchase, a long time back, a set of "weight checks" to keep an eye on my scale. I don't remember what I paid for them back then but a check today shows them being a little on the pricey side for what you get. If you have a machinist friend maybe he could make you some using his shop equipment.

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/493216/rcbs-standard-scale-check-weights-605-grains

· Registered
1,327 Posts