The Firearms Forum banner

Calcium impregnated AR-15 rifles, never lube again!

2K views 19 replies 12 participants last post by  ysacres 
#1 ·
Has anyone bought a rifle or upper that is impregnated with calcium so that you never need lube your AR-15? A friend at work is buying an upper and asked me if I knew anyone with firsthand knowledge. I might be interested in one or two myself...

https://www.andersonrifles.com/how-rf85-works/

#5 ·
If this stuff is so great, why hasn't anybody made an engine out of it?

#6 ·
Ok, this question is right up my alley. This is what I do for a living and I've been in the field for 25 years and hold a certification from a global society of lubrication engineers.

When I see something like this come along as I have several times, I wonder why did someone feel the need to develop it in the first place?

Are the prices of quality gun lubricants skyrocketing in price?
Is it just too troublesome to spray your upper components with a light lube or CLP?

So they say they want to eliminate the need for a lubricant.

Well, what does a lubricant do anyway?
A lubricant has several functions. First and foremost, it reduces friction between two moving surfaces. This is Tribology 1.0
Well, also a lubricant helps cool the surfaces, collects and suspends contamination and inhibits rust and corrosion.

Why would you want to take that away from your AR upper?

The bearing test that they showed is irrelevant to how an AR upper works.
The bearing, if lubricated would start in what we call "boundary lubrication" then as speed and load increases, move to a "mixed film" regime and then to "hydrodynamic" state.

These are shown by the Stribeck Curve

An upper in an AR 15 stays only in the boundary lubrication regime. The simple back and forth motion of the bolt does not provide any other means for a lubricant to work. Thus the bearing example does not even represent how a lubricant or lack of lubricant would work in an AR
upper