caliber ?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by corsair, Apr 11, 2009.

1. corsair

corsair Member

Is there any advantage of a .38cal long over a .38cal short? Can I use a short in place of a long? I have a I J .38cal revolver with a short cylinder and a Colt .38cal Spec. with the standard long cylinder. To the point, can I use the shorts in the .38 Spec? TIA

2. carver

carver Moderator Supporting Member

I'm no expert on this by a long shot, but my instincts tell me that even if this would work, and it might, it also might not be a good idea. There would be a bigger gap between the bullet and the barrel, that might cause lead to be spit out the sides. I don't even know if you could buy .38 shorts any more. Just shoot .38 wadcutters for practice, and plinking.

3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

Once upon a time, Colt made a 38 caliber cartridge that they called (no big surprise here) 38 Colt. They eventually made it a little bit longer, and called it 38 Long Colt. 38 Colt was kind of a puny round, and it did not get real popular.

In the same time frame, Smith and Wesson made a 38 caliber cartridge that they called (y'all see this comin', right?) 38 Smith and Wesson. This became popular as all get out. The 38 S&W round was a little bigger in diameter than the 38 Colt round. It would not fit in the Colt guns, and the Colt round, if fired in the S&W guns, would swell greatly and sometimes rupture.

Pretty much, the only guns chambered for the Colt round were Colts, and various European cruddy copies of Colts and S&Ws. The much more popular S&W round was chambered, not only in S&Ws, but in H&Rs, H&As, IJs, and bunches of other domestic and foreign makers' guns.

In the 1890s, the official army pistol was a Colt, chambered in 38 Long Colt. S&W, trying to get the military business, took the Colt round, lengthened it, and called it the 38 S&W Special. Chambered it in a new gun they designed called the Military and Police.