Case Trimmer

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Mrsailfish, Apr 11, 2009.

1. Mrsailfish

Mrsailfish New Member

I am new to reloading and was wondering if a case trimmer was neccessary to have ?
    Thanks IN advance

Mr Sailfish

2. dickshuford

dickshuford New Member

If you are going to do much reloading you will definitely need a trimmer. Be sure to check case length everytime

3. army mp

army mp Member

If you are going to load only straight wall handgun, not so much, as long as you stay with mid-range loads. There are guys on here that never trim handgun. Bottleneck and Rifle cases are a whole different animal. They should be checked every time after sizing. Lee makes a trimmer I hear guy say is good for the money, I use an RCBS case trimmer.

4. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

Yup, some sort of trimming setup will be needed. If you're reloading straight-sided cases like most pistol cartridges, you'll probably find that they need trimming less frequently than bottleneck rifle cartridges.

It's a good practice to check the length with each loading and trim them when the length reaches the max length listed in your reloading manual. A general rule of thumb is that the trim-to length will be 0.010" shorter than the max length, but if your manual says otherwise then heed that measurement.

If you're just reloading a few different cartridges, you might want to check out the Lee handheld case trimmer system. This uses a cutter with interchangable "pilots" for each specific cartridge and a shellholder system that you can either use by hand or by chucking it into a drill or electric screwdriver. It's a fairly cheap way to get set up to trim one, two, three calibers.
    http://www.leeprecision.com/html/catalog/casecon.html
    But if you're thinking that you'll wind up reloading for many different cartridges, then you might want to check into one of those lathe-style case trimmers.