The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im looking for some cheap 30-06 ammo. doesnt have to real accurate. just something to go to the range and burn up. im assuming there isnt anything in mass production. but what about reloading. has anyone come uo with a really cheap but workable reloading combination

·
Registered
1,241 Posts
Cheapest is usually foreign made milsurp. Be careful if firing in an M-1 Garand. Some of it if hotter than USGI intended. But OK for bolt actions etc.

·
Garandaholic
9,525 Posts
The least expensive 30-06 you're likely to find is HXP from the CMP. $98 +$11.95 ship for 200 rounds loose in an ammo can. You average about 204 rounds, and do have to jump through the fairly easy hoops to buy from the CMP, but quite worth it. Beware, you might get Garanditis like me

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
is that what your were talking about? im new to the rifle world. as far as the casing size is all 30-06 ammo the same?

·
Registered
18,207 Posts
.30-06 is .30-06. and the days of cheap are gone. The HXP stuff the CMP sells is fantastic ammo and safe for M1s. Its lower pressure ammo so a little less recoil and blast can be expected.

·
Garandaholic
9,525 Posts
is that what your were talking about? im new to the rifle world. as far as the casing size is all 30-06 ammo the same?
The only issue with HXP is it tends to be long. Bolt guns and some sporting autos might not chamber it so well. Not every round, but you're likely to find a percentage that won't.

You'll just have to get a Garand to shoot the rounds that won't chamber in your bolt gun. :)

·
Registered
18,041 Posts
The only issue with HXP is it tends to be long. Bolt guns and some sporting autos might not chamber it so well. Not every round, but you're likely to find a percentage that won't.

You'll just have to get a Garand to shoot the rounds that won't chamber in your bolt gun. :)