The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I am relatively new to reloading (barely over 1200 rounds), my father and I are doing both doing it I am doing 45 acp and he is doing his rifle. My question is how important is it to clean the brass in a tumbler and media before reloading? We don't currently do this and was wondering if this would be why some rounds were key holing last IDPA season.

·
Registered
3,382 Posts
I loaded for years without cleaning any brass. These were .357 mag mostly, and I was using Unique and H110. I finally bought RCBS tumbler, and used it heavily until the motor burned out.

In short, it's nice to clean the brass, but not absolutely necessary. I did wipe the cases in the old days, just to remove grit and dirt, but that was all. Now, I like my brass to look nice and shiny.

·
Registered
1,325 Posts
Ok I am relatively new to reloading (barely over 1200 rounds), my father and I are doing both doing it I am doing 45 acp and he is doing his rifle. My question is how important is it to clean the brass in a tumbler and media before reloading? We don't currently do this and was wondering if this would be why some rounds were key holing last IDPA season.
I dont think a dirty casing holds enough influence to keyhole a bullet, but rather lack of bullet stability, most likely due to you load recipe. Cleaning brass is important for many reasons. Dirty casings hide indications of a case that maybe near failure, clean casings results in easier resizing, less garbage inside your dies and your firearm when fired. Cleaned casings
also show up better on the ground after being fired, helps the pickup process.

·
Super Moderator
30,465 Posts
I don't believe your keyholing has anything to do with whether or not your brass is clean.

What are you shooting these out of and what kind of speed are you getting?

·
Registered
3,189 Posts