The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, i’m very new to reloading and currently struggling with determining how deep to seat my bullet. I have an Aero Precision AR10 in .308 and I’m using Hornady brass and SST 150gr bullets. After using their oal gauge tool I measured the oal several times, getting 2.877” each time. It states in my book the max col is 2.810”. I’m assuming that is probably just a guideline and it might be different for different rifles but this seems too long no?
Tire Hood Automotive tire Bumper Automotive exterior

·
Registered
1,979 Posts
Hello, i’m very new to reloading and currently struggling with determining how deep to seat my bullet. I have an Aero Precision AR10 in .308 and I’m using Hornady brass and SST 150gr bullets. After using their oal gauge tool I measured the oal several times, getting 2.877” each time. It states in my book the max col is 2.810”. I’m assuming that is probably just a guideline and it might be different for different rifles but this seems too long no?
The Hornady manual #8 list the .308 150gr SST COL at 2.735. I also have a AP LR-308 and when loading those specific Hornady bullets I am at 2.706 COL.
Hope it helps.

Reactions: Colby Cargile

·
Registered
565 Posts
Keep in mind if you were to load these to 2.877 or 0.020” less, (2.857”), they still need to fit in your magazine. I always measure the inside of the magazine then take a few thousandths off of that.
The COL measurement of 2.750“ works pretty well in my AR10.

·
Registered
1,979 Posts
Keep in mind if you were to load these to 2.877 or 0.020” less, (2.857”), they still need to fit in your magazine. I always measure the inside of the magazine then take a few thousandths off of that.
The COL measurement of 2.750“ works pretty well in my AR10.
I'm not sure sizing your rounds based upon your magazine is the best way to go about it.

·
Registered
2 Posts
View attachment 279699