The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently came into possession of a Colt Model 1908, serial # 135XXX (manufactured in 1942) that was issued to a general officer during WWII. As shown in the photo below, I also have one magazine and what I believe to be the original issued leather holster. The pistol was issued to Wallace Copeland “Cope” Philoon (1883-1970), who retired as a U.S. Army Major General in 1945. General Philoon graduated from Bowdoin College in 1905, and then attended West Point, graduating in 1909. He was captain of the football team at both schools. The person who owned the pistol before me acquired it directly from General Philoon, and in the 43+ years that he had it he put no more than 15 rounds through it. I don’t know how often General Philoon used it, but from anecdotal evidence it sounds like the answer is rarely if ever.

When it comes to evaluating firearms, I’m a complete novice, so I was hoping to get some impressions form the forum members here. Given the photos I’ve attached, is it possible to come up with a rough estimate of what this pistol is worth?

100_9000.jpg

100_9002.jpg

100_9004.jpg

·
Registered
299 Posts
I confirm wonderwhippest's estimate - that's about what I have seen for general officer's 1908's. Very, very nice by the way!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys, I very much appreciate your feedback. Based on some limited internet research I did before making my first post, I was only expecting a value in the range of $1,500 to $2,000, so hearing $4,500 to $5,000 is a nice surprise.