Computer crash's and working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by FreedomAndForgiven, Jan 12, 2018.

  1. FreedomAndForgiven

    FreedomAndForgiven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    Missouri
    So my studio computer started acting stupid, and then crashed which I was totally freaking out because my external hard drive broke a few weeks before so I had no backups. So I don't sweat it because it is all signs of a pure motherboard failure. So I get a new PC up and running. Go to clone the hard drives as my new one only accepts 2.5" drives. So get everything cloned and ready to go. The new computer won't boot up so I rig the old hard drive up just in case the new hard drive was bad. The computer doesn't even read that a hard drive exists. So now I have over a decades worth of work gone 87 songs to come out this year and 100 next year all gone. At this point I start throwing up I'm so freaked out.

    Talked to a couple friends on Facebook and one I went to high school with used to own a computer business. He was able to recover everything and thankfully I'll be up and running by the end of the weekend. The only thing lost was 2 weeks of not being able to work on stuff
     
  2. 68c15

    68c15 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8,789
    good thing the only stuff on my PC is gun porn
     

  3. BlackEagle

    BlackEagle Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,482
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry you had problems, and glad you're getting back up and running again.

    Computers can be so frustrating.
     
    BlueDragonLair likes this.
  4. The War Wagon

    The War Wagon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Messages:
    136
    Location:
    da' 'BURGH
    I have - for many years now - kept all my documents and other files, on drives SEPARATE from my OS drive. Yeah, bugs CAN jump from drive to drive, but more than likely, the OS drive will crash BEFORE that happens.

    Set up a new computer, plug in the storage drives, and off you go. Done that twice now in 13 years - works like a charm.
     
    BlueDragonLair likes this.
  5. Bigdog57

    Bigdog57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,399
    Location:
    North Florida
    I worked 24 years at my state IT department, we did backups of data daily, weekly and monthly, then rolled it off to an archive yearly. Our mantra was "Backup, backup, backup!"
    So I do that with my home system, backing up at least monthly, or whenever I have collected a goodly number of pics and documents. It all goes onto both an external HD and a 32Gig thumbdrive.
    Used to use CDs, but that got slow and tedious, taking ten CDs. Then went to DVD, better but it seemed every new box of them had 50% failures to format.
    That external HD has paid for itself many times over. My last desktop crapped out, but I got everything loaded back onto a new laptop quickly.
     
    Broot, BlackEagle and BlueDragonLair like this.
  6. gvw3

    gvw3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14,529
    Location:
    Chicago IL Area
    Pretty much what I would recommend.
     
    Broot and BlueDragonLair like this.
  7. PRR1957

    PRR1957 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    Berkley, Michigan
    Try backing up your stuff onto archival CDR's. Uncompressed of course. That's what I do with my photo art and my original music. Belkin Gold CDR is what I use.
     
    Kvasir and BlueDragonLair like this.
  8. BlueDragonLair

    BlueDragonLair Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,993
    I know I'm old but back in Tuscaloosa we had to backup to magnetic tape. Course the phone lines were recorded on tape, too.
    Best feeling I've ever had with a toasted computer was, after removing hard drive, was taking it to the trash chute and listening as it fell 8 stories to the trash bins!:)
     
    Broot, PRR1957 and BlackEagle like this.
  9. mogunner

    mogunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    Eastern Missouri
    In the past I have loaded hard drives into an external setup and pulled whatever it was I was after in that manner. Still have a couple of the enclosures lying around but the son gave me a 2 terrabyte external hard drive for Fathers Day a couple of years ago so I back up my documents onto that about once a week, more if I get a lot of business orders in.
     
  10. FreedomAndForgiven

    FreedomAndForgiven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    Missouri
    Well I'm going a step above I've got a dual bit for bit cloner that's going to be going 24/7 figuratively speaking. The main issue he has had is my new PC is Intel while my old builds were AMD
     
  11. marlin795

    marlin795 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Northern California
    I work in IT and the best practice I have found is to have the OS on an SSD and all my data on a separate hard drive. I'm a computer junkie and build a new desktop every six months so when I get my new desktop up and running I just pull my data drive and link all my programs that are on the SSD to the drive. No need to reinstall games or anything it's all there. I backup the data drive once a month to a separate hard drive. I do the same thing with my laptops. Modern laptops have M.2 SSD slots and 2.5" hard drive bays.
     
    BlueDragonLair, Broot and BlackEagle like this.
  12. FreedomAndForgiven

    FreedomAndForgiven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    Missouri
    Well back up and running. Turns out my hard drive cloned perfectly as it should, but it wouldn't read anything as it's issue was this. My new computer is so advanced that it can't read legacy or any of the older boot codes especially since it is also considered a Virtual Reality Console PC. I had to adjust a couple different things but it is all up and running now. Thanks to the guy I went to middle school with for helping me out lol
     

    Attached Files:

    BlackEagle and Broot like this.
  13. BlackEagle

    BlackEagle Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,482
    Location:
    UK
    Glad to hear that.
     
    BlueDragonLair likes this.
  14. Big Mak

    Big Mak Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,010
    Location:
    WA state or MT!
    Great news!

    I have back ups for my back ups. :) As a professional photographer side business, I have about 3 terrabytes of photos so I keep my external back ups in a fireproof safe, and have external back ups connected to computer. I back up the Safe versions about every 3 months.
     
    BlueDragonLair and BlackEagle like this.