The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I have been carrying for about 1 1/2 years now and have ran into a situation. My new job affords me the opportunity to carry almost everywhere I go but I do wear business dress (shirt tucked in slacks). I carry a Ruger SR9c in a N82 Tactical IWB holster but now that the weather is warming up (even here in Western Washington) I am finding it uncomfortable to leave my suit coat on in certain situations.

I am considering ankle carry for these situations where I may have to shed my coat. So I am looking for advice on what to look for in an ankle holster (i.e. comfort, retention, style, etc.) I am currently considering a S&W Bodyguard 380 but am open to suggestions here as well. I want something fairly small on my ankle (at least I think I do; that's why I am here).

Anyway, I appreciate all your thoughts on this topic so I can start shopping for a firearm and holster since it may take a while these days.

·
Premium Member
34,532 Posts

·
Super Moderator
41,338 Posts
Many years ago, I carried a small revolver, Colt agent, I think. But anyway, it was very inconvenient. It will be very hard to reach if you need to grab it in a hurry, as you would have to squat down or lift your leg up to reach the holster. Even though that Colt was small, it was kinda heavy which caused the holster to end up riding right on my shoe every few steps. When it did that, it was no longer concealed when I sat down. I just got tired of it after a while. It would be just as easy if not easier to get a pocket holster and carry in your pocket.

·
Registered
3,189 Posts
I tried ankle holsters, honest attempts at every day carry, several times but every time I ditch the idea.