The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using Lee Factory Crimp Dies on all my semi auto rifles for the last couple years. So now, I'm just beginning reloading for my pistols & revolvers, 45 ACP, 44 Rem mag, 460 S&W mag, and 480 Ruger mag. From what I take of it, Revolvers get roll crimps and semi autos get taper crimps. So who makes the best over all crimp dies for hand guns. I started out buying Forester Dies, have switched to RCBS; just want to buy crimp dies for my hand gun loads and get the ones everybody else finds best for overall use.

·
Registered
1,451 Posts
for semi-auto rounds i luv the Redding taper crimp die

i like the Lee taper crimp die for rifle

overall, for rifle i prefer forestor dies, for pistol i prefer redding...

·
Registered
3,588 Posts
For pistol/revolver ammo, I just use the crimp feature of the seating/crimp die regardless of what brand my dies are. Haven't used a separate crimp die in 20+ years of reloading.
Roll for rimmed cartridges.
Taper for any cartridge that headspaces on the case mouth (rimless, semi-rimless, rebated-rim, etc).

I don't crimp as a separate step either but I know some guys do.
If you've got a progressive/turret press and have an extra station then I can understand doing it as a separate step if you choose. Since I run a single-stage or an old 3-station C-H with no room for the separate die it seems an extra wasted trip through the press to me.

·
Registered
2,109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·