The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,940 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I currently work in the Food Industry. (Meat dept., major grocery chain.) I get deals. One of my current deals was two 8 oz. plastic jars of fresh (pasteurized) Crab Meat. Came in with the case damaged. Two "leakers." (Even at a twofer deal at 40% off, what one cost. Not cheap.) [$20/8 oz.] I have always loved to cook, and have worked most positions in the Kitchen of some high end restaurants. (Leaning towards Seafood.)

I am seeking recipes involving the use of Crab meat, specifically, Bisque or Crab/Seafood Chowder. (Not really interested in using this for Crab cakes.) Crock Pot type recipes.

I have my own recipes and thoughts, (but) would appreciate hearing from others, on their recipes for a decent amount (1 lb.) of high grade Crab meat, in the above two dishes.

*One other question - would freezing the meat/containers be a viable option, or do I need to use it immediately? I am prepared to do so. I would prefer to use/grill some of the numerous Steaks I have been bringing home instead though.

Thanks in advance, for any input.

(I can google recipes, but would prefer input from you guy's.)

·
Super Moderator
30,474 Posts
The biggest problem with wanting to make a bisque is that you would want the shells to boil to make your base.

·
Premium Member
TFF Pie Queen
5,939 Posts
Crab prices are like triple this year.... I can see lots of boats out at night. I don't like our local crab. But seems like there would be a lot of wonderful things you good do with jarred fresh crab.

Reactions: KenK/84Bravo

·
Registered
1,932 Posts