The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to this and not sure if this is the correct place for this, but I just have a quick question.

There is a dent in the casing of one of my 5.56 rounds. Is this an issue, or is it okay to fire? It will chamber into my rifle smoothly. I just don't want to damage anything if I can avoid it.

Thank you!

Attachments

·
TFF Chaplain
20,428 Posts
Are those reloads? If so, who reloaded them?

Reactions: shootbrownelk

·
Registered
447 Posts
That round looks rode hard and put up wet. Why is is so scratched and dented? Has it been hand cycled through the firearm a bunch of times? Is that a factory load, someone else's reload, or your reload? Is that the only one like it that you have?

As to whether a dent such as shown will affect the round, the answer is that it will not

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Did just buy the rifle and was having some trouble with the magazine that came with it wanting to double feed, so the round may have got scratched up and dented while fixing that. Still pretty new to ARs so I may have done it. I just wanted to make sure that it wasn't going to effect the bullet or gun in a negative way if I fired it.

It is a factory round.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Looks to me that there may be a weak spot on the top of the dent. Check it out well.

I usually can a round like that.

·
Premium Member
13,492 Posts
Keep track of it, shoot it and examine it afterward. It should be fine but if not, trash it. I fired one very similar to that this morning but not in an AR. It's fine and I'll reload it many more times I'm certain.

·
Registered
1,869 Posts