The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Growing up in the country I was introduced to guns early in life. I started shooting my Dad's Mossberg Mod.35 .22 about age 8. My close friend lived on a farm a half mile up the road from me. Of course I was in the barn often. In the milk house in the barn there was a shelf where three guns stood which belonged to my friend's older brother. We were never allowed to touch them but it was great just to look at them. One was a .22 I didn't pay much attention to but there was a Winchester Mod. 12 16 Ga. and a Winchester 1894 .32 Special. To me these were the "God of Guns". Oh, how I longed to own guns like these someday.
Over the years I had bought other guns but never came across any like these in good condition so I never aquired the guns of my dreams.
About ten years ago I was talking to another friend of mine and we were talking guns and I mentioned the Mod. 12 16 Ga. My friend said he had one but it was broken so he didn't use it. He showed me the gun and I offered to buy it. My friend said he'd do better than that. I'd done him a couple favors so he handed me the gun and told me it was mine. I was elated.
I brought the gun home and looked it over. The action was jammed tight. I took it apart and found the extractor was broken and a piece had become lodged in the action. I bought a new extractor but even after some filing and grinding I couldn't get it to fit properly. I ordered another and had the same issue. I put the gun back together and set it aside disappointed. There is only one gunsmith up in my area and if you take something there it may be a year or more to get it back if you can afford to pay his price.