The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
761 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm just getting started at reloading, and I'm shopping around for things I need. I see that there are steel dies and carbide dies. What's the difference and is there a preference of the two. I just really wanna buy them once. I'm gunna be loading 9mm and .223 rounds. I have a RCBS rock chuckler master kit. Do any name brands work with it? Thanks for any advice. And I see on the dies they say full length and small dies what's the difference in that too? Thanks again.

·
Registered
5,286 Posts
the vast majority of dies are 7/8-14 thread. Any brand will work in most cases unless you've got a old press or oddball.

Carbide dies are highly recommended for pistol, this way you don't have to lube straight walled cases.

Regardless of die type, you will have to lube rifle brass. Carbide is 10x the price of steel in rifle dies, it's just not worth it unless you have an extremely high volume or just like to waste money. Carbide rifle dies are approx $120 - $140 a set if you can find them, most companies don't even make them.

·
Registered
626 Posts
Definitely get carbide dies for pistol cases. As wooleyworm said, carbide for rifle is just not practical, and you still need to use SOME lube on them.

Small base dies are supposed to resize cases fired in weapons with generous chamber dimensions so that they will fit any type rifle-- autoloader, bolt, whatever. In the real world, I have resized many thousands of military cases fired in machine guns with normal dies, and they all resized satisfactorily and fed in my semiautos. I bought a set of SB dies but have never used them. Unless your rifle has an extremely small chamber, I wouldn't use them. I think they unnecessarily work the brass, thus shortening their useful life.